G5

IMG_2210I was born and raised in Alabama in a small rural county in Alabama. I had a very close  Southern Baptist family. I knew from probably 5 or 6 that I was gay, but never was told it was wrong back then I didn’t even know what it was because it was never defined. So when I started school that time you start going through puberty the church made it very difficult to deal with something like that because they never really addressed it, but they would condemn it. I tried to be a good Christian boy and a good kid to my parents. I didn’t really say anything about it, didn’t act on it, didn’t do anything, but when I was 18 and graduated high school I decided out of respect for my parents I would wait for that point in life to tell them so I told them that I was going to move out and at the same time I told them that I felt as though I was gay and I was going to live my life without lying about that. Of course at first you think the worst is going to happen like that seemed like the biggest moment in my entire life, being honest about something like that, but ultimately what happened was that as soon as I said it and as soon as they processed it and as soon as I realized that they weren’t going to react poorly about it everything became normal for the first time in my entire life. It was completely correct it was completely right. I hadn’t met anybody, I wasn’t pursuing anybody, I was still me and I think the most important thing for me was that my parents made a huge point to say your still Dave nothing changed. Now I’m almost 45 and to this day the closest relationship I have is with everybody in my family. It has never been an issue except for the fact that i’ve been able to have a life that is good and quality and truthful and that I haven’t struggled around that. I’ve been able to be me in every single scenario because my parents had the insight and love for me to say your sexuality doesn’t define you you’re still you.

Leave a Reply

